Let the Bracket Obsession Begin

march-madnessSelection Sunday. March Madness. Sweet Sixteen. Elite Eight. Final Four. College basketball just loves alliteration, doesn’t it? Pardon me if I seem scattered in this post, but like so many Americans, I’m on the lunacy fringe awaiting the release of this year’s NCAA Tournament teams. Can’t wait to see how all 65 stack up. I’ll rely upon the bulleted-point method here, which seems organized, but really indicates no sense of direction as a writer:

  • It’s strange how everyone touts the prominence of the Final Four over the NCAA Championship game. Where else in sports is simply making it to the semifinals cause for celebration? Considering the cutthroat nature of college athletics, it’s surprising simply making the Final Four is considered an accomplishment. Name the four teams that made the 2005 Final Four. Exactly.
  • I love brackets. When I was working at my college’s newspaper, we churned out brackets of a different nature for our Maverick Madness contest. We would pit all-things-college against one another. Complete nonsense, and there was no method to our madness. (Check’em out here and here.)
  • According to MSNBC, March Madness is responsible for approximately $1.7 billion in loss of productivity. Turns out your standing around the water cooler a little longer and tracking those games on espn.com really make an impact. But, one can argue that March Madness increases office morale. (That’s common with any work activity that doesn’t require actual work.)
  • Who do I want to win the tournament? Wisconsin. Likelihood: 0.83% chance.
  • Who do I think will win the tournament? Any team that has this guy.
  • If you were to play in each of the major networks’ pick’em contests, you’d improve your overall chances of winning, right? That’s my logic. That’s why I’ll probably be on the Internet nonstop for the next four days.
  • Suffered a severe butt-kicking last year to my girlfriend, who chose all four No. 1 seeds to go to the Final Four. Being stubborn, I think I had a No. 5 seed in their and another lower seed which I chose out of emotional attachment. (Biggest mistake you can make in filling out a bracket: Picking the teams you want to win over the teams who will.) I don’t think the No. 1 seeds will show up like they did last year. This is a scattered field, and if we’ve learned anything from the conference tournaments, it is “trust no one.”

I’ll be back later on to comment on the tournament seedings.

Leave a Reply

