The Apocalypse is Upon Us

logo_seattlepost-1

Perhaps this marks the beginning of the end.

The Seattle Post-Intelligencer will print it’s last paper edition tomorrow before going exclusively online. This marks the biggest newspaper to go strictly digital, although the trend has caught no one by surprise. Advertising sales are down across the country and newspapers continue to suffer losses, with some even filing for bankruptcy.

All good things must come to an end, and while the heavyweights like The New York Times and The Los Angeles Times will likely always have a paper version, the reality is the newspaper industry is terribly wasteful. To play devil’s advocate, just imagine how much money is saved by cutting off the need for paper and ink, not to mention entire printing presses with their staffing. Millions. So, this is logical.

I’ve been starting my morning out with the news for as long as I can remember. It used to be a bowl of cereal and the sports page. Even when I got to college, I could read the USA Today, Minneapolis Start Tribune and Mankato Free Press with my Cocoa Puffs. As I’ve bounced from apartment to apartment the past few years, I’ve taken to reading my news online. I go to The Huffington Post, Drudge Report, CNN.com, startribune.com, and mankatofreepress.com. I actually get more news…and for free!

A sad day? In the sentimental way, I suppose. It’s just like CDs: I used to mow lawns and wash dishes at the family bar for the opportunity to buy CDs. I’d drop $15 on something I’d listen to twice, but nothing beat plopping on a beanbag, throwing on my headphones and reading the lyrics in the liner notes. I’ve come to accept mp3s now as the smarter alternative. Things change.

So long, printed-version-of-the-Seattle-Post-Intellegencer.

3 thoughts on “The Apocalypse is Upon Us

  1. Had to start somewhere…the foward-thinking Northwest makes a lot of sense.

    We’re talking hippie-country, they should have gotten rid of printed papers years ago up there.

    Especially in the land of Microsoft…it was a long time coming, I guess.

    • The Post-Intelligencer was second fiddle to The Seattle Times, anyways. Perhaps a part of the problem is saturation. Major cities shouldn’t need two newspapers. Expand the staff at one paper and cover more territory, I say. The world moves too fast for newspapers anymore. You don’t pick up your copy until noon, the world you’re reading about has already changed.

      (That sounded a little dramatic, I know.)

Leave a Reply

