I Am the Scrooge of St. Patrick’s Day

It’s 9:10 p.m. as I write this and I’m just about to go out and begrudgingly drink a beer. It’s won’t be a green beer, either. I get enough food coloring in my diet as it is. I’m not a big fan of St. Patrick’s Day. I don’t like Notre Dame, I think potatoes are just OK, hate Flogging Molly and Dropkick Murphys or any other Irish rock off-shoot, and I would sooner use Guinness as motor oil. I don’t mind Jameson Irish Whiskey though.

en-gal-1-s-3

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day Jameson, I must turn you attention to this story printed in the Minneapolis Star Tribune last week. I had never heard of Jameson until about a year ago when the place I bartend at (South Street Saloon in Mankato, MN) started carrying it. It’s become the shot of choice for regulars and bartenders alike at SSS, so I was shocked to hear about a bar moving nearly 22 bottles per day. Amazing. I would say on average we sell about 4-5 bottles per week at best. It’ll probably be more like 8-9 this week.

Kudos, The Local. Three-time highest-selling purveyor of Jameson? That’s the bar version of a Nobel Peace Prize.

One thought on “I Am the Scrooge of St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Jake and I went there last week and had “Fat Gingers,” their specialty drink of Jameson and ginger ale. This is why we’re all friends.

Leave a Reply

