My 21-Year-Old Self Would Be Appalled

On a whim, I got ahold of a contact at Edelman last week to ask about potential openings at the Portland office. I expected little because a) my contact works for the Edelman office in New York and b) Edelman is the world’s largest independent public relations firm in the world meaning they’re pretty tough to work for.

Well, I didn’t get a job offer but after reading a forwarded copy of my resume, I did receive a phone call about a full-time paid internship opportunity, lasting 3-6 months with possible employment at the end. I took a few hours to think it over – still very much in the running for a JOB that pays much better – and decided to accept an interview.

If I get the internship, I’m taking it. While my background is journalism, I think now is a really exciting time for public relations and the marketplace shifting to social media and consumer-controlled content. The dinosaurs are dying off and my generation really has the opportunity to take the reins with ou inherent understanding of Facebook, Twitter and the Internet Age in general.

If I get the internship and nothing comes of it after my stint, I will have improved my resume enough to where I should be a legitimate candidate with other firms.

Still, talking about changing course midstream. “PR” has negative implications in the journalism world, but I see myself increasingly bent on working in an intense, competitive, creative, deadline-driven environment. I feel like PR would better utilize my skill set than, say, education management.

So, I interview on Monday and I’m looking forward to it. In the meantime, it’s more hot dogs, library books and Redbox rentals.

One thought on “My 21-Year-Old Self Would Be Appalled

Leave a Reply

