Weekend Soundtrack: Phoenix

I’m late to the Phoenix party, but it’s true that their album Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix was probably one of the best albums of 2009. (Hence, all the top 10 list mentions.) I’d heard their track “1901” in a Cadillac commercial, but for the most part, wrote them off as another hipster collective with tight jeans and bad intentions.

False. Phoenix is great.

They just might shake out to be the Kings of Leon of 2009. By that, I mean Phoenix isn’t exactly new on the scene, but this outstanding album will easily thrust them into the mainstream and win over the hearts of 16-year-old girls everywhere. I guess what I’m saying is if it works for the kids, it works for me.

It’s going to be a rainy one in Portland this weekend. This is my soundtrack for a rain-soaked weekend stuck in doors, spent cleaning and blogging and eating the same old same old with my good friend Chuck.

Have a listen. Buy the hype. As they so often say in Portland, “Cheers.”:

Leave a Reply

