Nostalgia in Niketown

As we speak, I’m prowling eBayhoping to find a pair of the most obnoxious shoes I’ve ever owned. They are the Nike Presto Fazes, made popular in the early 2000s as part of Nike’s foray into flamboyant running shoes that looked like aquasocks made of Nerf. I cannot find a pair with the same monochromatic Leopard print mine had, but even more disheartening, they’ve become something of a collector’s items for sneakerphiles. (That’s a real term. I didn’t invent it.)

At $180, I could order a pair of the most comfortable shoes I’ve ever owned. What baffles me is back in 2001, I bought’em from the bargain bin for about $40. I was a junior in high school with a horrible taste in athletic shoes. I never intended to wear them for sport or style. They were my to-and-from-football-practice shoes. With no shoe laces and ultrasoft cushioning, I wore them like slippers. Needless to say, they smelled like 16-year-old boy in no time. They would not sell for $180 on eBay if I still owned them.

Oh, did I mention the ad campaign for the Prestos was positively awesome and ridiculous?

For sneakerphiles – sorry – shoe fanatics, Portland is a tough place to live. It’s the birthplace of Nike, after all. With Nike headquarters in nearby Beaverton, this is the first place you’ll see the latest Nike shoes, but also where you’re most likely to see re-releases and limited editions.There’s also hipsters in the mix who will juxtapose their otherwise dingy, aged wardrobe with a pair of fluorescent Nike running shoes whenever possible.

This is a shoe town. I’m a shoe person. And unfortunately, all I can think about is the awesome shoes I owned a decade ago, because apparently I was really fashion forward and never understood that at 25, I would yearn for my old shoes again.

Am I alone on this one? Am I the only who misses a pair of shoes you’d pay top dollar to own again? Let’s hear your story.

3 thoughts on “Nostalgia in Niketown

  1. I am proud to say that at 24, I still wear my fourth-grade wrestling shoes (which were Chuck Taylor’s of course) on a daily basis. They fit well, they look great and they helped me kick the shit out of little boys at Huskerland. It’s going to be a sad day when they take their last walk.

  2. I’m sorry to say, if I were to come across these in the apartment they would have the same destiny as that god awful stocking hat with the bill (that I had nothing to do with).
    Stick with your UGG slippers, please.

  3. Haha, I still have my black and gray Prestos in my closet here in Denver…even though I can probably count on one hand the number of times I’ve worn them in public since I bought them, as you said, from the clearance bin at Scheels circa 2001. Maybe I’ll bust ’em out one of these days…or maybe I should sell them – they’re not new, obviously, but someone may want them…thanks for the idea Miller!

Leave a Reply

