Seattle in Summary

After a few days of rain, the Seattle skies went blue and the Safeco Field retractable roof was left open. Pure baseball bliss.

While most of you poor saps are back to work today after  Memorial Day Weekend, my girlfriend and I have taken an extra day off work to recover from hosting our two good friends who visited from Minneapolis. We’re splayed out in our Seattle hotel room, trying to muster the energy to drive three hours back to Portland.

In reality, we don’t want to leave.

Seattle is everything I hoped it would be. It’s like a Portland that grew up, took a shower and got a job. The architecture is jaw-dropping, the food is achingly good and the people are absolutely some of the warmest you’ll ever meet. As cities go, I’ve got a massive crush on Seattle. And I won’t even get into the coffee.

Here’s one thing that needs to be known about Seattle: Safeco Field is an absolute gem. Now, granted, I spent most of my childhood watching the Minnesota Twins play in a big silo, I’ve seen games at Wrigley Field in Chicago, Camden Yards in Baltimore and Rosemblatt Stadium in Omaha for the College World Series. Trust me — Safeco Field is one of the most intimate ballparks you’ll ever visit. Plus, the fans – faithful to their 19-31 Seattle Mariners — are some of the friendliest I’ve ever met in any sport. Period.

My girlfriend and our friends each wore Minnesota Twins gear, and even while the Twins won 5-4, there was nary a playful poke from a Mariners fan. No heckling at all. We sat near a Mariners fan who acted like an ambassador to the stadium, pointing us in the direction of the best concession stands, speaking to random Safeco Field trivia. I can’t say enough how great it is to have fans who respect the game and experience for fans of both sides.

Before I cut this blubbering blog post short, leaving out our experience on the Space Needle and our ferry ride to Bainbridge Island, I must admit I went to the original Starbucks nearby Pike Place Market. Now I can die happily. It wasn’t an entirely unique Starbucks experience. (Imagine the typical 7:45 a.m. line, take away the seating, and throw in a few dozen tourists walking aimlessly.) It’s amazing to think the world’s biggest coffee brand came from such humble beginnings.

Back to life, back to reality. We’ll take the I-5 South, begrudgingly, back to Portland and kick off our two-month homestretch until we move back to the motherland. Here’s hoping Minneapolis is something like Seattle.

3 thoughts on “Seattle in Summary

  1. I sit at my cubicle while you lie in the hotel room I left just 13 hours ago. Seattle/Portland/Smillers are worth my reenactment of Zombieland today. Thanks for the great weekend, Beth and Andrew. An unforgettable trip!

  2. I hope you find your bliss here in the Cities… we don’t have Pikes Place Market, but we DO have a couple of great Farmers markets… no Safeco field, but TARGET rules. :) and finally the people at my local Starbucks call me by name…. no.. not the original one, but a great one none the less…
    I’ve lived here for 12 years…. love it all… :) I hope you both do too…. I’m also a South Dakota transplant. :)

Leave a Reply

