Why I Quit Watching the 2010 NBA Finals

“Talent is God-given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful.” – John Wooden

I wonder how John Wooden would feel watching Celtics Rasheed Wallace and Nate Robinson get technical fouls in the fourth quarter when trailing 2-1 in the NBA Finals.

I wonder how he’d feel about Glen Davis screaming and spitting for 30 seconds up and down the court after scoring and drawing a foul.

I wonder how he’d feel about Paul Pierce accidentally punching a referee in the face after making a two-foot layup in the first quarter.

I wonder how he’d feel ESPN on ABC having to use the mute button over and over during their live recording because of the foul language frequently used by both teams.

I’ve defended the NBA’s product for a long time, but I’m quickly losing interest. It makes no sense that grown men would act more immature than their college cohorts, but nonetheless, the NBA Finals have turned into something I wouldn’t want young kids to see.

I can’t imagine any other sports league allowing its players to make such a mockery of the sports. This wouldn’t fly in the World Series, the Super Bowl or even the Stanley Cup. These men clearly don’t understand there’s a fine line between history and infamy.

Commissioner David Stern, if you listen long enough during those extended audio cutouts on ABC, you can hear something. What is that? Let me help you — that’s the sound of your fans giving up on a game they’ve defended for too long. You might want to do something about that.

2 thoughts on “Why I Quit Watching the 2010 NBA Finals

  1. I stopped caring about the NBA a long time. I used to watch it all the time when I was kid but then just lost interest. I don’t know if the game changed or something but yeah…I couldn’t even watch Game 3 of the NBA Finals when there was literally NOTHING else on TV. I just shut it off after a couple of minutes of trying to get into it and read a book. It could be the egos. The yelling. The individualism. The thugs. The fighting. The non-professionalism. I don’t know. It just doesn’t seem like a sport anymore.

Leave a Reply

