Please Help a Guy Get an Internship

This will be the first, last and only reference to the 2000 U.S. presidential election.

Starting tomorrow at 8 a.m. CDT, Facebook users will have the opportunity to decide the next summer intern for Fast Horse Inc. in Minneapolis, Minn. I’m among three finalists, and this position equates to a dream internship, so I’m hoping you, dear reader, could mosey on over to this page and vote for yours truly. But before you do, here’s the rules:

  1. You must “Like” The Fast Horse Experience before you can vote.
  2. A vote is counted in the form of a “Like.” My video cover letter will be posted along with the other two finalists. To vote, simply “Like” the video. It’s that easy.
  3. Voting closes at 5 p.m. CDT on Friday.

You won’t need to submit: An e-mail address, your mailing address, your average yearly income, your first-born child, any amount of money. This contest is cut and dry. The nature is simple: If you’re so good at marketing, you should be able to hype yourself. So, here I am.

If you really want to help me out, please add me on Facebook. I’m sending out a mass message later on today with directions on how to vote. Also, throughout the week, I’ll be regularly updating my status to remind people. You could also supply me with your e-mail address if you would be interested in sending out a forward. (Just leave that in the comments or e-mail me at atmiller14@gmail.com)

You may be thinking, “Why does he think he deserves this gig?” Fast Horse Inc. gave me 750 words to answer the same question. Here’s what I wrote in response. You’ll find it on their blog starting tomorrow:

At Cause for the Fast Horse Summer Internship by Andrew Miller

For the past year, I’ve been an academic coach for college students at an education management company in Portland, Ore. To fully describe the job would waste too many of the 750 words I’ve been afforded, but if I’m selected as the next intern at Fast Horse Inc., I’ll take from it this one axiom: “Be at cause, not at effect.”

That’s something one of my current managers preaches. What does it mean to be at effect? Sometimes, we allow difficult circumstances to put us at a deficit. That deficit, like the slick, slimy walls of a deep well, can leave us feeling stuck at the bottom with no way out. However, when we are at cause, we take advantage of our circumstances, even if it means digging the well so deep we pop up on the other side of the planet.

Here’s another example: MacGyver. Trapped in a room with a time bomb, he could disarm it with nothing more than a shoelace, a Blow Pop and a Lego block. Now that’s being at cause. Let’s face it — someone who was at effect could’ve never starred in a TV series that lasted eight years, despite it being terribly predictable.

Fast Horse is at cause when they say big ideas trump big budgets. Ideas are recession-proof, and in this new economy, businesses are spending less on marketing. So, big ideas prevail. Consider some of the challenges faced by a few Fast Horse clients:

These companies push forward by remaining at cause. Their brand is strong. Their tradition is proud. Their products are undeniable. (A little creativity from Fast Horse helps, too.) Each of these companies has shown the steadfastness necessary to persist through these unsavory times … by remaining at cause.

I have experience overcoming similar challenges:

-I worked for the Minnesota Vikings sales and marketing team after the franchise had endured myriad off-the-field issues and seasons of mediocrity. In 2007, we created a new model for a more fan-focused training camp experience.

-I worked alongside Dr. Drew Pinsky and the Trojan Sexual Health Advisory Council to help develop and launch Trojan’s Evolve campaign. This came at a time when abstinence-based sexual education was gaining steam across the nation. So far, it’s been one of Trojan’s most successful marketing campaigns.

In both cases, the two major brands needed to be at cause to overcome difficult obstacles and remain leaders in their industry.

I’ve been at cause in my young career. I graduated from Minnesota State University, Mankato in 2008 with a degree in English and a minor in mass communications. Before that, I spent two years as editor-in-chief of the college newspaper. I had planned a career in print journalism, but the newspaper industry collapsed. Not to mention, social media so quickly became a part of journalism, it was like my college education was rendered obsolete months after receiving my degree.

So, I became a student of social media on my own time. This January, I revived a blog I’d long neglected and used it as my social media testing ground. Since January, I’ve logged nearly 30,000 hits. On April 23, my blog was featured on WordPress.com’s Freshly Pressed section as one of the 10 best posts among nearly 300,000 worldwide. Gizmodo it ain’t, but every blog has to start somewhere.

Why am I worthy of this gig?

I’m most alive when surrounded by other creative people working toward a common goal. As an intern at Fast Horse, I want to help develop and foster ideas for clients to transform and enhance their consumer experience. I want to be at cause.

If I’m honored with this opportunity, I intend on making myself a part of the team — permanently. This is the sort of company I’ve dreamed of working for, so I would use the internship to learn, grow and hopefully develop into a full-time Pony.

More than my education or experience, I believe my attitude has prepared me for this role. I hope you vote for someone who is at cause and fit to flourish if given this opportunity.

I hope you’ll vote for me.

___

Please get behind me, loyal TMT readers. It would mean the world — and an internship — to me!

4 thoughts on “Please Help a Guy Get an Internship

  1. Things I’m Willing To Do If I Win, Part 1 « The Miller Times

Leave a Reply

