Underdog Under Armour Triumphs in Brand-Building Game

Every few weeks, I write a blog post for Idea Peepshow, the official blog of Fast Horse Inc., the consumer marketing agency where I’m currently an intern. Today, I wrote about Under Armour’s most recent endorsement deal with New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady:

As long as I’ve been an athlete, I’ve always been a gear head. When other kids were spending money on personal training, camps and acceleration programs, I was busy checking out the latest advances in sporting goods.

In August 2002, before my senior high school football season, I went to a little family owned sports store in Sioux Falls to special order an undershirt made with space-age material proven to wick away sweat better than any product on the market.

As my co-workers can attest from some of our warmer softball games last summer, I sweat — a lot. I felt anything that could help me survive becoming a puddle during two-a-days was worth it, so I paid $30 for a T-shirt and implored the store owner to order more for my teammates.

Continue reading

Leave a Reply

